Visiting Professor of Creative Media

The Visiting Professorship of Media was established in 1996, as part of a generous benefaction from Rupert Murdoch. It is an annual appointment and the Professor will give a series of lectures during the academic year (usually in January/February).

The current postholder is Zing Tsjeng, Executive Editor of VICE UK, and author of the Forgotten Women series.

Her second lecture took place on 22 October. She talked on the topic of ''Yellow Peril' in the UK', examining the way in which East and South East Asian people in the UK have been depicted in the British press and media. 

The lecture is available to watch on YouTube:

Her first lecture, 'Everything is online now how the internet blurred fact and fiction', explored how the line between offline and online life has collapsed and the implications, opportunities and challenges that has for journalists. 

The lecture is available to watch on YouTube:


Previous Professors have included:


Samir Shah, Chief Executive and Creative Director, Juniper TV, who delivered his 2019 lectures:

'Truth, Lies and Videotape - drawing the line between acceptable artifice and unacceptable deception' 

'Mercury’s perihelion and The Donald'

Stig Abell, Editor, The Times Literary Supplement, who delivered his lectures on 'The End of Journalism?'. 

Lecture transcripts are available here:

Visiting Professor of Creative Media lecture – The End of Journalism? (1)

Visiting Professor of Creative Media lecture – The End of Journalism? (2)

Dawn Airey, CEO of Getty Images, who delivered a lecture series on 'No Filter – Power and Pictures in a Post-Truth World'.

Matthew Engel, the journalist and sports writer, who gave a series of lectures entitled 'Please, mister, can we have our ball back? Sport, the media, and the people'.

Lecture transcripts are available here:

Lecture 1: Life and death? No, much more important than that

Lecture 2: It's the cat's whisker

Lecture 3: From Reith to wreath

Lecture 4: You are the earth and the sky

Stephen Garrett, the man who brought Spooks and Life on Mars to our screens, who gave the series:

Lecture 1: How to Grow a Creative Business According to the Laws of Chance

Lecture 2: Why the Only Rule is that there are No Rules

Lecture 3: No More Heroes

Lecture 4: Tomorrow Got Here Yesterday

Paul Gambaccini, who gave a series of lectures entitled 'Face the Strange'. 

Anthony Lilley, Chief Executive, Magic Lantern Productions

Janice Hadlow, Controller, BBC Four

Armando Iannucci, Writer, Director, Producer, Broadcaster

Stewart Purvis, City University (and formerly ITN)

Hugh Whitemore, Screenwriter

Barry Cox, Deputy Director, Channel 4 and Chairman, Digital Television Stakeholder’s Group

Jenny Abramsky, Director, BBC Radio

Kristin Thompson, University of Wisconsin

Roger Graef, Film-maker, broadcaster, writer and criminologist

David Elstein, Chief Executive, Channel 5